Running in the wrong direction.

I dreamt I loved you years ago

before the bombs were dropped

ears ring so loud with haunting sharpness of promises long past

the voices heard now are not to be trusted though they speak a simple truth

eyes close but the noise never ceases and it needs no rest like we do

remembering a time when a beginning didn’t  correspond with an end

my heart racing I try to temper its giddy runaway, speeding off without looking where it’s going

I pass a shop it’s name strikes me hard “Running in the wrong direction”

Am I?

Is it a  fools game not to guard your heart?

Such a vital organ it seems so strange we loan it out.

No, it’s what supposed to happen.

It’s how it works.

Imagine a world without chance.

I don’t want to.

Embrace chance, embrace change, embrace hurt, embrace love, for nothing good ever came of doing nothing at all.

So keep running, even if it’s in the wrong direction you can always turn around.

Leave a comment